Introductions

SHU WPF, voices in my head, Writing About Popular Fiction, writing and technology, writing life September 16, 2010

I’m currently enrolled in Seton Hill University’s Master of Fine Arts in Writing Popular Fiction. That’s right, delicate souls, I will soon be awarded a terminal degree in writing fiction. An academic award for the voices in my head. I am giddy with delight, but not so giddy that I can’t hear my characters cheering me on. Okay, some of them are laughing, but I’m not telling which ones.

This is my last term in SHU’s WPF program and I’m taking a class called Writing About Popular Fiction. Honestly, I wasn’t sure what to expect, and it’s both gone beyond the boundaries of my meager expectations and laid me out completely flat with what it means to be a writer in this technological age. I’ll be blogging a fair amount about the course content and what it means to me, but one of the assignments was to write my author bio. Or bios, as the case may be.

What better way to introduce myself on my blog? I write about a variety of topics, so I’ve chosen to write two separate bios.

My “general” bio:
Nikki Hopeman still has a trunk full of spiral-bound notebooks of short stories in elementary handwriting. While she’s graduated to using a computer for writing, she still finds files of mysterious information saved for future writing endeavors and she can sometimes remember why she saved them. She lives in the Pittsburgh area with her husband, two sons, two corgis and one chaotic cat. She can be reached through her website at http://www.nikkihopeman.com.

And one bio more specifically for my pagan writing (my thesis and its sequel novels):
A lifelong pagan and practicing Wiccan for fifteen years, Nikki Hopeman has a passion for the Celtic pantheon, tattoos and skyclad ritual. When she’s not mumbling over her cauldron or invoking her muse, she can be found in the Pittsburgh area with her husband, two sons, two corgis and one chaotic cat. She can be reached through her website at http://www.nikkihopeman.com.

You can find me on Facebook and Twitter, as well.

by

Tattooed writer with an attitude seeks like minded people who appreciate snark and ink. Or snarky ink.

Comments 3

Leave a Reply

