Favorite authors by genre

Uncategorized September 22, 2010

It’s a new school year! I love the beginning of the school year. I have a weakness for office supplies– notebooks, pens, pencils, stacks of blank paper, erasers… Set me loose in an Office Depot or Staplers and I can go crazy.

Of course the beginning of the school means something different to me since I’m not in a traditional educational setting. My school goes year round and I don’t sit in the classroom except for two weeks out of the year. Alas, I don’t need to buy a new bookbag and fill it with goodies. BUT I have two kids! Voila!

They’re in second and fifth grades. It’s a really cool experience, watching them learn and fostering a love of books. My older son has the love. He gets through novels- not tiny ones, but ones like Rick Riordan’s The Lightning Thief or Eoin Colfer’s Artemis Fowl, in a day or two. He loves reading. My younger son hasn’t been bitten quite so hard yet, but it’s only a matter of time. I love seeing them read.

So what’s your favorite child’s book? I liked The Big Tidy Up Book by Norah Smaridge as a kid. I also had a book I loved dearly, and would love to find again, but can’t remember the title. There was a poem in the book that I can recite even now:

Jean saw a horse beneath a tree. She thought he’d like a pat. But all that old horse wanted was a bite of Jean’s new hat.

My tastes changed as I got older and one my favorite YA series is the Books of Great Alta by Jane Yolen.

I loved to read to my sons, too. We liked Pajama Time by Sandra Boynton and The Runaway Bunny by Margaret Wise Brown.

What are your favorite kids’ books? And can anyone else remember that poem about the horse?

by

Tattooed writer with an attitude seeks like minded people who appreciate snark and ink. Or snarky ink.

Leave a Reply

