Friday Fuel and other news

Friday Fuel, SHU WPF, Uncategorized January 14, 2011

On Wednesday, January 12, 2011, I graduated from Seton Hill University’s Writing Popular Fiction program with a Master of Fine Arts!

WOOT!

Yeah, me, a graduate.

It’s been three long years coming, but it felt good to walk across that stage and receive my diploma. I didn’t have that experience as an undergrad, so this was a special for me.

“What’s next?” you ask. A wonderful author I know has offered to recommend me to her agent, so I will begin revising my thesis in preparation for submission. It’s already been through one pretty solid revision, so it’s just fine tuning. I’ll submit it to this agent and hopefully at least get some good feedback.

I also have two critique groups I’ll be active in, with deadlines staggered every two weeks. Working with this wonderful people holds me accountable and keeps me producing. Graduation is definitely not the end for me, but rather the beginning.

Here’s today’s Friday Fuel:

1. You walk across the stage to receive your diploma, but instead of the diploma inside that pleather folder is a plea for help from an alien race.

2. You’re driving on a desert highway, no other vehicles in sight, when a red Camaro comes out of nowhere to pass you, driving erratically.

3. You’re sitting in a coffee shop, reading a newspaper and a man with a slight tic asks if he can share your table. He sits down and you realize he’s handcuffed to his briefcase.

4. You’re having a terrible day your 9-5 cubicle job. You’re tired, cranky and angry. One of your coworkers burns a bag of popcorn in the microwave.

5. You watch a man staple a sign for a lost cat to the telephone pole in front of your house and 15 minutes later watch a woman remove it.

Happy writing!

by

Tattooed writer with an attitude seeks like minded people who appreciate snark and ink. Or snarky ink.

Leave a Reply

