An ideal place to write or only in my dreams

writing life August 15, 2011

My kids have been home for summer break. We have several weeks of a day camp through their school, and their father took them camping for a week, but summertime is a break in our normal routine.

I have mixed feelings about this. I do enjoy having my kids home. They’re cool kids, as kids go, and have wicked senses of humor, something I like to think they get from me. They’re also at the ages (8 and 11) that I generally only have to break up a few fights during the day and can, for the most part, amuse themselves while I get something else done.

However, I find it very difficult to write when they’re in the house. I’m not sure if it’s because I feel like I have to be Mom and not Writer when they’re here or if it’s just the distraction of knowing I could be doing something fun with them instead of pecking away at my keyboard. Probably a combination of the two.

I have an office here in the house, and am perfectly capable of going into said office and closing the door, but it’s still less than ideal. Even when the kids aren’t here, it’s the dogs, whom I also love dearly, that need in out in out in out.

So every now and then I let myself dream about my “ideal” place to write, a place I know I’ll never find, because “ideal” is a concept that, to some extent, elusive. I’m sure that even this “ideal” place would end up with distractions and I’d find reasons to step away from my keyboard. But it’s fun to think about.

My ideal place to write would be close to water, but not close to neighbors. It would be small and isolated, with sweeping views and lots of wind. It would be located in a cooler climate, since I tend to get more done when the weather isn’t gorgeous. I’d like an older house/building, since I like the creaks that accompany age. Something like this:

 

 

 

 

 

 

Or perhaps like this:

Gorgeous, aren’t they? I imagine a single-story house, just the basics inside, with a huge fireplace and even larger windows to look out over that magnificent view.

What or where is your ideal place to write? Something like this or do you write surrounded by noise and chaos?

by

Tattooed writer with an attitude seeks like minded people who appreciate snark and ink. Or snarky ink.

Comments 4

    • Nikki says on August 15, 2011

      Okay, wi-fi would be nice, but I don’t need pizza. In fact, the thought that no one could come to my door would be exhilarating.

  1. Meg Mims says on August 15, 2011

    LOL! I love this. So true, too – although my dog is lying on the floor and hasn’t bugged me about going out for a while. Eventually they’ll be out with high school friends, driving here and there, or in college! You will wish them back, like me. Sigh. Enjoy while you can! They are so cute. 🙂

Leave a Reply

