Privileged responsibility

writing life September 12, 2011

Does anyone else love the commercial for one of the big office supply stores in which the parent is dancing through the store picking up school supplies for the morose child following behind? That’s right, it’s BACK TO SCHOOL TIME. Usually I am that parent, flitting about the store, tossing binders and highlighters into the cart. This year is a little different.

I confront the beginning of this school year with mixed feelings. My older son started middle school. It’s a big change for him and a very long day, since his middle school is a 45 minute bus ride away. He also has mandatory after-school athletic requirements and, once a week, a robotics class. The bus picks him up at 6:45AM and he gets home around 4:45PM. Long day for the dude.

It’s an adjustment for all of us.

Having the kids back in school means I have a slightly more predictable schedule. I love having a few free hours during the day to write or read. What has surprised me this year is that I’m filling my hours with more obligations than ever before.

I call these things “obligations,” but sometimes that word has a negative connotation. These things are excellent opportunities, both in career advancement and for my family. I’ve been privileged to be a part of a fledgling publication company, Grit City publications. My responsibilities to Grit City will grow over the next few months and I’m looking forward to the challenge. The zombie story that started out as a humorous short story has taken on a new life and is quickly becoming a novel with a protagonist I like very much. Reading and reviewing books remains a source of inspiration for me, and I will not give up my time for reading.

Grindstone, meet nose. Be gentle.

by

Tattooed writer with an attitude seeks like minded people who appreciate snark and ink. Or snarky ink.

Leave a Reply

