Excuse me, sir, but I based a character on you…

angst, research January 25, 2012

I have been looking forward to today for weeks. I need everyone’s positive thoughts so that I don’t make a complete idiot in front of someone I’m very much looking forward to meeting.

In high school, all my studies were focused on the sciences. I wrote, indeed I wrote well enough to win contests (including one that I went to Penn State University to accept) and was requested to write a poem for my graduating class’s baccalaureate program. But I wanted my future to be in the sciences. I took honors biology courses and advanced placement tests, went to college for marine and then microbiology. I worked in the genetic therapy field for the University of Pittsburgh Medical Center before I had my sons.

I love science.

I also love writing and I have a slightly morbid interest in all things forensic. I don’t know why it took me so long to figure out I’m a horror writer, but my favorite blend of horror and forensics makes me very happy.

Pittsburgh is the hometown of one of the country’s most prominent forensic scientists, Dr. Cyril Wecht. For those that don’t know, Dr. Wecht worked with the Allegheny County coroner’s office for 15 years. He earned a B.S. from the University of Pittsburgh in 1952, an M.D. degree from the University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine in 1956, an LLB from the University of Pittsburgh School of Law in 1962, and a J.D. degree from the University of Maryland School of Law. He’s been involved in investigating the deaths or cases of Robert F. Kennedy, Sharon Tate, The Symbionese Liberation Army shootout, John F. Kennedy, The Legionnaires’ Disease panic, Elvis Presley, JonBenét Ramsey, Dr. Herman Tarnower (the Scarsdale diet guru), Danielle van Dam, Sunny von Bülow, the Branch Davidian incident, Vincent Foster, Laci Peterson and Anna Nicole Smith. During his career, Wecht performed more than 14,000 autopsies. He is a clinical professor at the University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine and an adjunct professor of law at Duquesne University. (source: Wikipedia)

My kids go to an excellent school here in Pittsburgh that attracts many prominent people, and parents are encouraged to be a part of everything. Today I will go listen to a private talk given by Dr. Wecht and then have lunch with him.

Please cross your fingers I don’t trip in front of him.

by

Tattooed writer with an attitude seeks like minded people who appreciate snark and ink. Or snarky ink.

Comment 1

Leave a Reply

