World Horror Convention 2012… at the Mountains of Madness

idols, writing life April 9, 2012

Breakfast and serial killers. I haven’t been so happy in a long time.

World Horror Convention 2012 was held March 29 through April 1 in Salt Lake City, Utah. I had a blast with some really wonderful people.

I’ve never been to Utah, and I was honestly surprised at how beautiful it was. Hawaii was stunning, but I expected that. Colorado was lovely, but constant altitude sickness put a damper on my enthusiasm for the mountains. I’ve been to some really spectacular places like Neuschwanstein Castle and Hamubrg in Germany and Lake Zurich in Switzerland, and I have to say the landscape of Salt Lake City is right up there.

I arrived around noon, and flew right over the lake and the salt flats. Your eyes follow the completely flat ground right up to the amazing Wasatch and Oquirrh mountain ranges to the east and west. It’s incredibly beautiful and a place I hope to return to.

The main convention activities were held in the Radisson where we stayed. The seminars started at 3 on Thursday  and went through Sunday afternoon, so there was never time to be bored. From “Religion in Horror” to “The Digital Revolution: ebooks and the future of publishing,” everything was covered. Pitch sessions were available and lots of opportunity to chat with industry greats.

On Saturday evening I had the privilege of sitting at a banquet table with Stoker nominee Lawrence Connolly, and fellow writers Swea Nightingale, Leadie Flowers, Elsa Carruthers, Paul Popiel, and Paul Genesse. The Bram Stoker Awards Banquet was incredible, and seeing authors like Joe Lansdale, William Nolan, Rick Hautala, and Rocky Wood was amazing. The award for Vampire Novel of the Century was awarded to Richard Matheson for I Am Legend by Dacre Stoker.

Paul, Stephanie, me, Larry, Q, Swea, and Elsa

I attended a seance on Thursday night… it was… amusing. That’s all I’ll say about it.

I also visited the Fort Douglas military cemetery Friday night with the Wasatch Paranormal Investigation team, where I watched a man provoke ghosts.

The original gate from the Fort Douglas Military Cemetery

Cemetery at night.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I sat in on a seminar given by Al Carlisle, who is a prison psychologist that worked with Ted Bundy and Westley Allan Dodd (particularly fascinating).

I think my favorite part of the convention was the mass autograph signing where many of my favorite authors were available to chat with and sign books.

This was my second WHC, and just as great as the first. Can’t wait for next year!

by

Tattooed writer with an attitude seeks like minded people who appreciate snark and ink. Or snarky ink.

Leave a Reply

