Friday Fuel: Hair cuts, summer camp, and anxiety

Friday Fuel, writing life August 3, 2012

Happy Friday!

I know I need to get a bit of writing done over the weekend. I’ll struggle to fit it in between martial arts promotions (my husband) and birthdays (my older son), but I need it for reasons more than work.

I feel better when I write. Not only in the sense that I feel productive, which is lovely, but in the sense that it allows me to step outside myself for a little while and forget the things that might be bothering me. If I’m more concerned about my characters’ problems than my own, even for just a few hours, I come away rejuvenated. Writing is essential for me. It is my outlet.

So I hope you get some writing time this weekend as well. Mine will be spent in my office, most likely with a cat or a corgi snoring beside me.

Here’s your Friday Fuel:

1.    Your protagonist is alone in his home, watching TV and eating ice cream on the first floor. Noises on the second floor grab his attention. Does he investigate? What does he find?
2.    Write a short story in which a woman gets a hair cut and hates it. Better yet, it’s a week before she starts a new job.
3.    On this day in 1963, Allan Sherman released the song “Hello Muddah, Hello Faddah.” Did you go to summer camp? Write a short story about a fictional child at summer camp. Any genre.
4.    Write a short scene or story using these words for prompt: death, auction room, red, and anxious.
5.    Some say to leave no stone unturned. What would that look like in a short story?

Have a great weekend! And don’t forget to check out Hazard Yet Forward, available at Amazon on August 7. Seven hundred pages of multi-genre goodness!

by

Tattooed writer with an attitude seeks like minded people who appreciate snark and ink. Or snarky ink.

Leave a Reply

